Luka Modric

Luka Modric won the 2018 gold ball

This year is Luka Modric to get on stage to get the golden ball, this football year is his!

It wasn’t enough the failure to win the World Cup (even if they came second) to snatch the most coveted trophy from players around the world and, after a year spent running, to score and carry on the team, the effort suffered along with moments of disappointment he finally repaid.

From eleven years until now, the gold ball has always been assigned to Ronaldo or Messi, has always been contested between them; well this year it is up to Luka Modric who can finally break the duopoly and take the prize that is due.


It can be considered a deserved victory: the Croatian player won with a difference of 300 points on the second, they are not few.

Now let’s take a look at the ranking:

1. Luka Modric (CRO / Real Madrid) 753 punti

2. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR / Juventus) 476 punti

3. Antoine Griezmann (FRA / Atletico Madrid) 414 punti

4. Kylian MbappĂ© (FRA / PSG) 347 punti

5. Leo Messi (ARG / Barcellona) 280 punti


Second appears CR7 that, after a World Championship ended too soon, decides to change team, moving to Juventus; Third, the world champion Griezmann appears, who after an incredible World Championship and an excellent season perhaps deserved more! In fourth place we find Mbappè, also back from an excellent season but perhaps too young for this trophy; finally fifth place Messi, who after a disastrous World Cup managed to lift his head just playing in Barcelona!


Leave a Reply